Black Bean & Edamame Salad

It’s easy, it’s yummy, it’s healthy, it’s lenten. It’s obviously not soy-free, but I’ll post it anyway, because fresh, organic edamame is okay with me in moderation. Many thanks to my good friend, Missy, for this great recipe, which is adapted from Clean Eating Imagemagazine.
 

Black Bean & Edamame Salad

1 15oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup grape tomatoes, halved
1 cup fresh or frozen shelled edamame, thawed
1 green pepper, seeded and diced
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
1/2 cup diced red onion

Combine these ingredients together in medium bowl. In a small bowl, whisk together the dressing which is:

1 1/2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp lime juice
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper

Drizzle over top of bean salad and toss to combine.

2 Comments »

  1. Rachelle said

    I thought these were soy free recipes, but you have edamame in the mix? That’s a soybean. Am I missing something?

    • Rachael said

      Yeah, I did mention that I know it’s not soy-free, but I included it anyway since it’s not processed soy, which is the main thing I want to avoid. Even so, I don’t plan to fill the blog with recipes including soybeans. 🙂 I just liked this one a lot and I think it could be really good substituting some other kind of tasty legume for the edamame.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

